Online-Pass

Lindy Hop auf deine Art!

Lerne wann du willst, wo du willst, wie du willst und was du willst mit unseren Online-Kursen und virtuellen Trainings!

Ist unserer Online-Kursprogramm das richtige für dich?

  • Du willst deinen Trainingsplan selbst in der Hand haben?
  • Du schaffst es nicht zu den Kursen vor Ort?
  • Du willst die Geschwindigkeit deiner Einheiten verändern können?
  • Du willst ein durchgehendes Konzept von den Grundlagen bis zum Fortgeschrittenen?
  • Du willst dich vorbereiten um dich im nächsten Kurs sicherer zu fühlen?
  • Du willst einfach mit deinem Partner oder allein Zeit für dich/euch haben?

Mit unserer Online-Tanzplattform findet das Lindy Hop Tanzen, mit allem was es zu bieten hat, auch in deinem Leben Platz.

Egal wie viel Tanzerfahrung du schon hast – ob du ganz am Anfang deiner Tanzlaufbahn stehst, bereits Expert:in bist oder sogar selbst unterrichtest – mit unserem Online-Pass machst du jeden Tag Fortschritte. Mit uns und mit unserer Community. Wir bieten sowohl Video-on-Demand Kurse, als auch Live-Sessions an.

Ein komplettes Training – vom Einstieg bis zur Expertise

Mit diesem Angebot bekommst du Zugriff auf alle unsere Videos – von den Grundlagen bis zu fortgeschrittenem Lindy Hop und Solo Jazz. Du kannst alleine oder mit Partner:in mitmachen.

Der Online-Pass enthält die vollen 90+ Stunden an Lehrvideos, die verschiedenste Tanzinhalte abdecken.

Virtuell Sozial

Erhalte Zugang zu unseren regelmäßigen Live-Events auf Zoom. Gemeinsam macht das Training mehr Spaß! Etwa mit unseren “Train Together” Sessions: Wir wärmen uns zusammen auf und unterstützen uns gegenseitig. Es ist auch immer jemand aus unserem Team da, um Fragen zu beantworten, dir bei deinem Training zu helfen.

Angeleitete Übungssession wie Jazz Roulette und Jazz Routine Practice sowie andere Social Aktivitäten – etwa SwingStep Radio und DJ Battles – sind Teil des Angebots.

Preis

Monatsabo

29 €/Monat

Beinhaltet

  • Vollen Zugang zu all unseren Online-Kursen! Das sind über 90 Stunden Lernvideos – von den Grundlagen bis zu fortgeschrittenen Techniken.
  • Zugang zu den regelmäßigen Zoom-Aktivitäten wie “Train Together”, Jazz Roulette, Socials und mehr!
  • 100% Geld-Zurück-Garantie für die ersten 30 Tage.

Du kannst

  • jederzeit ohne zusätzliche Kosten pausieren oder kündigen.
  • Unterstützung durch den Pay-it-Forward Fund bekommen oder darin einzahlen, um andere zu unterstützen.

All unsere Abos fallen unter unsere 30 tägige Geld-Zurück-Garantie. Wenn du ein Abo abschließt und nach den ersten 30 Tagen nicht von unserem Angebot überzeugt bist, kannst du einen Teil oder dein ganzes Geld zurückerhalten. Wir glauben fest daran, dass dir unser Angebot gefallen wird, so dass wir dir mit besten Gewissen diese Garantie anbieten können.

Du willst mitmachen, aber kannst dir das Abo nicht leisten? Wir haben etwas ins Leben gerufen, damit das Abo für alle zugänglich ist, unabhängig von ihrer finanziellen Situation. Schau dir unseren Pay-it-forward Fund an!

5% unserer Einnahmen fließen in unser Mindfulness Budget, das schließlich zur Unterstützung von Umweltorganisationen und Antirassismus-Projekten eingesetzt wird.

Wenn du einzelne Kurse kaufen möchtest, setze dich bitte direkt mit uns in Kontakt.

Zeitplan der Online-Aktivitäten

Auf unserer Kalender-Seite bekommst du einen Überblick über unsere Online-Aktivitäten. Du kannst den Filter nutzen, um nur Online-Events anzuzeigen, zwischen Monats- oder 3-Tage-Ansicht wechseln und deine Zeitzone einstellen.

Oder du fügst die Events mithilfe dieses Google– oder iCal-Links deinem eigenen Kalender hinzu.

Mehr zu den verschiedenen Online-Aktivitäten findest du unten.

Wähle deinen Kurs!

Lädt...
Lädt...
Lädt...
Lädt...
Lädt...

Online-Aktivitäten

Gemeinsam macht das Training mehr Spaß! In diesen Sessions treffen wir uns online, wärmen uns gemeinsam auf und stimmen uns das Training ein. Danach arbeiten wir selbstständig an unseren individuellen Trainingszielen – sei es ein SwingStep-Video an dem wir uns orientieren, ein altes Recap von einem Workshop oder was auch immer du magst.

Du kannst während der Session gerne nach Feedback oder Hilfe fragen. Allein das Wissen, dass wir gemeinsam an einem Strang ziehen, kann uns noch mehr motivieren, das Training durchzuhalten und bringt zusätzlichen Spaß.

Eine originelle und lustige Art, Solo-Jazz zu trainieren! Das Roulette-Rad entscheidet welchen Moves wir uns an dem Tag widmen. Wir üben sie zusammen und denken uns coole Combos aus.

Es ist uns wichtig, mit den Klassikern Schritt zu halten! In jeder Session steht eine klassische Jazz-Routine im Mittelpunkt (z.B. Tranky Doo oder Trickeration). Wir arbeiten zusammen daran, du hast die Möglichkeit, die Choreografie zu üben und bekommst Tipps, um Übergänge und Style zu verbessern.

Diese Sessions sind hauptsächlich dafür gedacht, dass du eine Routine übst und trainierst, die du schon ein wenig kennst. Wenn du sie noch nie getanzt hast, kannst du gerne trotzdem mitmachen, aber sei bereit für eine Herausforderung. 😉

Improvisation ist ein wichtiger Teil der Jazzkultur! Häng dich nicht nur an Routinen und Technik auf, sondern nimm dir auch die Zeit Improvisation zu trainieren. Mach bei Improve Your Improv mit, um neue Dinge zu lernen, dich inspirieren zu lassen und dich wohler zu fühlen, wenn du dich zur Musik ausdrückst.

Wir legen großartige Jazzsongs auf und erzählen Geschichten und Fun Facts über die Künstler:innen oder die Songs. Währenddessen kannst du tun, was du willst: Karten spielen, Gartenarbeit machen, tanzen oder einfach nur einen Kaffee oder Tee mit uns trinken.

Zeit zum Feiern! Das kann ein DJ Battle of the Bands sein, ein Spieleabend oder ein Social Dance… alles, was uns einfällt, um gute Wochenendnächte zusammen zu verbringen.

FAQ zum Online-Program

Wir haben regelmäßige Zoom-Aktivitäten, wo immer eine Person aus unserem Team dabei ist, der du Fragen stellen kannst. Am besten eignen sich dafür die “Train Together”-Sessions.

Du kannst uns auch über unsere Slack- oder Facebook-Community anschreiben. Wir freuen uns, mit dir in Kontakt zu kommen. Du kannst direkt Fragen stellen oder uns ein Video schicken, um Feedback zu bekommen – was du lieber magst.

Oder du schickst uns eine Email mit deinen Fragen.

In den Videos wird Englisch gesprochen. Aber in den meisten unserer Online-Sessions kannst du Fragen auch auf Deutsch stellen.

Dieser Abschnitt soll dir bei der Problembehebung helfen, damit du so schnell wie möglich weitertanzen kannst, falls mal etwas schiefgeht.

Als erstes müssen wir rausfinden, ob die Störung global oder lokal besteht, d.h. ob unser Server bzw. unsere Webseite nicht richtig funktioniert oder ob es nur auf deinem Computer oder Smartphone passiert.

Lass uns damit Anfangen, wie du rausfindest, ob das Problem auf deinem System besteht.

Test 1 – Ist es deine Internetverbindung?

Wenn du auf diesen Link klickst, kannst du die aktuelle GESCHWINDIGKEIT deiner Internetverbindung testen. Wenn du ein Video schaust, ist die Download-Geschwindigkeit wichtig.

Außerdem solltest du die STABILITÄT deiner Verbindung testen. Mit diesem Service kannst du dir einen schnellen Eindruck darüber verschaffen, wie stabil deine Internetverbindung ist. (Du musst dazu keine weiteren Informationen angeben. Klicke einfach auf Start Test.)

Du kannst den Test stoppen, sobald du einen Eindruck deiner Verbindungsstabilität hast. Wenn es überwiegend grün ist, funktioniert deine Verbindung gut. Wenn es überwiegend rot ist, solltest du möglicherweise deinen Internetanbieter kontaktieren.

Wenn die Geschwindigkeit geringer als 40 Mbps ist, solltest du vielleicht die Videoqualität reduzieren, um ein besseres Ergebnis zu bekommen. Andere Services wie etwa YouTube regeln die Qualitätseinstellung automatisch. Wir nutzen allerdings hauptsächlich Vimeo, wo diese Einstellung manuell vorgenommen werden muss. Du findest sie auf dem kleinen Zahnradsymbol, das unten rechts im Video angezeigt wird.

Wenn deine Verbindung nicht sehr schnell ist, kann es außerdem helfen, andere Browser-Tabs und Apps zu schließen. Jeder Tab kann die Ressourcen deines Computers und deiner Verbindung nutzen. Wenn du dazu neigst, sehr viele Tabs geöffnet zu haben und deine Browser-Leiste etwa so aussieht, kann es sein, dass zu viel Speicher gebraucht wird und so den Computer ausbremst.

Test 2 – Ist es dein Browser?

Es gibt zwei schnelle Wege herauszufinden, ob der Browser das Problem ist. Der erste ist, einene anderen Browser zu öffnen. Wenn du beispielsweise Chrome benutzt, öffne Firefox, Explorer oder Safari und logge dich auf swingstep.com ein. Wenn es dort funktioniert, scheint etwas auf unserer Webseite mit deinem Standard-Browser inkompatibel zu sein.

Eine andere Möglichkeit ist, ein “Inkognito”-Fenster in deinem Standard-Browser öffnen und zu testen, ob das Problem dort weiterhin besteht. (Das Öffnen des “Inkognito”-Fensters funktioniert unterschiedlich bei verschiedenen Browsern. Eine Internetsuche nach “Inkognito-Fenster öffnen” und dem Browsernamen hilft dir, falls du die Funktion in deinem Browser noch nicht kennst.)

Test 3 – Was an meinem Browser verursacht das Problem auf swingstep.com?

Es gibt verschiedene Problemquellen, die eine reibungslose Nutzung des Browsers verhindern können. Am häufigsten sind die Folgenden:

  • Browser-Cache – Der Browser-Cache soll einige Webseiten-Informationen speichern, damit die Seite beim nächsten Mal schneller lädt. Meistens funktioniert es auch gut, aber manchmal wird dieser Speicher überfüllt und bereitet Probleme. Ab und zu sollte der Cache geleert werden, um den Browser gesund zu halten.
  • Browser-Cookies – Nicht alle Cookies sind schlecht. Wenn alle Cookies blockiert werden, funktionieren manche Features (z.B. Videos) nicht mehr. Sie sollten zwar regelmäßig gelöscht werden, um keine ungewollten Cookies anzusammeln, aber sie können auch einen wichtigen Nutzen haben. Falls du einen Cookie-Blockers hast, pausiere ihn auf swingstep.tv und lösche die Cookies in deinem Browser.
  • Browser-Plugins – Manche Browser-Plugins wie etwa Adblocker tun mehr als sie sollen. So werden etwa nicht nur Werbungen, sondern auch wichtige Cookies blockiert. Pausiere oder Deaktiviere deine Browser-Plugins auf swingstep.tv und teste, ob das Problem weiter besteht.

Test 4 – Ist der Speicherplatz voll?

Eine weitere Möglichkeit ist, dass der Speicherplatz auf deinem Computer voll ist und die Webseite dadurch nicht mehr geladen werden kann. Das passiert zwar sehr selten, aber es sollte trotzdem also potenzielle Problemquelle in Betracht gezogen werden. 

Konkrete Fälle

Hier sind konkrete Fälle, die vorgekommen sind und wie sie gelöst wurden. Vielleicht trifft etwas davon auf dein Problem zu.

Problem: “Ich hatte einen Totalausfall der Webseite. Ich konnte mich am Anfang noch einloggen, aber als ich den Kurs abhaken wollte und auf ‘completed’ geklickt habe, ist sie abgestürzt und jetzt kann ich mich nicht mal mehr anmelden.”

Erklärung des Problems: Heutzutage fügen viele Dienste Informationen zu deiner Browser-Suche hinzu. Nach einer Weile haben sich so viele Informationen angesammelt, dass sie das Maximum an übertragbaren Daten des http-Headers überschritten haben. In diesem Fall hat die Information “course completed” das Fass zum Überlaufen gebracht.

Lösung: Leere den Cache und lösche die Cookies. Auf dem Smartphone bedeutet das, dass du den Browser vollständig neustarten musst. (Wie genau das auf deinem Handy funktioniert kannst mit einer Internetsuche nach “App komplett beenden” und deinem Handymodell nachlesen.)

Globale Probleme

Wenn du alle Schritte versucht hast und die Webseite weiterhin nicht richtig funktioniert, ist es sehr wahrscheinlich, dass das Problem auf unserer Seite liegt. Bitte gib uns Bescheid, damit wir uns so schnell wie möglich darum kümmern können. Falls es bei dir danach immer noch nicht funktioniert, können wir das Problem selbstverständlich gemeinsam angehen, indem du uns eine E-Mail an [email protected] schreibst.

Zögere nicht uns zu kontaktieren! Schicke eine E-Mail an [email protected], in der du das Problem so konkret wie möglich beschreibst und wir melden uns bei dir.

FAQ zum Online-Pass

Auf deiner Account-Seite kannst du unter “Abo” das Abonnement verwalten und auch pausieren.

Bis zum Ende des aktuellen Zahlungszeitraums (30 Tage nach der letzten Zahlung) hast du noch Zugang zu den Kursen und zum Online-Programm. Danach hast du keinen Zugang mehr und die monatliche Zahlung wird nicht mehr abgebucht. Du kannst dich jederzeit mit deinem Konto einloggen und das Abo wieder aktivieren, um Zugang zu den Kursen und dem Online-Programm zu bekommen.

Der Vorteil beim Pausieren eines Abos ist, dass du beim späteren Fortsetzen nicht wieder deine Zahlungsdaten eingeben musst und der Vorgang vereinfacht wird.

Für das Pausieren des Abos fallen keine zusätzlichen Kosten an.

Bitte beachte, dass diese Option eingeschränkt ist, wenn du PayPal nutzt: Du kannst dein Abo erst wieder reaktivieren, wenn der aktuelle 30-Tage-Zeitraum vorbei ist. Wenn du Stripe nutzt, sollte das kein Problem darstellen.

Auf deiner Account-Seite kannst du unter “Abo” das Abonnement verwalten und auch kündigen.

Bis zum Ende des aktuellen Zahlungszeitraums (30 Tage nach der letzten Zahlung) hast du noch Zugang zu den Kursen und zum Online-Programm. Danach hast du keinen Zugang mehr und die monatliche Zahlung wird nicht mehr abgebucht. Du kannst dich jederzeit mit deinem Konto einloggen und das Abo wieder aktivieren, um Zugang zu den Kursen und dem Online-Programm zu bekommen.

Wenn du dein Abo kündigst, musst du im Falle einer erneuten Anmeldung wieder deine Zahlungsdaten angeben. Für die Kündigung des Abos fallen keine zusätzlichen Kosten an.

Über unseren Pay-it-Forward Fund kannst du eine Vergünstigung beantragen. Schreib uns einfach eine Email mit deine Anfrage und wir geben dir einen Rabattcode, den du bei deiner Anmeldung verwenden kannst. Wir haben keine festen Richtlinien, wie stark wir reduzieren; kontaktiere uns und wir finden eine Lösung.

Ab dem Zeitpunkt der Anmeldung wird dein Abo-Beitrag alle 30 Tage abgebucht. Das Abo wird damit automatisch jeweils um 30 weitere Tage verlängert. Wenn dein Abo beispielsweise am 4. Januar begonnen hat, findet die nächste Zahlung am 3. Februar statt.

Du kannst für dein Abo mit SEPA-Lastschriftverfahren oder Kreditkarte (über Stripe) oder PayPal bezahlen.

Stripe bietet die Möglichkeit für ein SEPA Lastschriftmandat, das regelmäßige Zahlungen direkt von deinem Bankkonto ermöglicht, ohne dass du dafür ein zusätzliches Konto nutzen musst wie bei PayPal.

Wenn eine Zahlung nicht erfolgt, wird das Abo automatisch auf den Free Pass reduziert. Die Zahlungen erfolgen immer am ersten Tag des neuen 30-Tage-Zeitraums.

Da wir aber ein System verwenden, das die Zahlungen automatisch regelt, wird das hoffentlich kein Problem sein. Sollte es doch Schwierigkeiten geben, gib uns bitte sofort Bescheid.

Im Moment haben wir keine automatische Lösung dafür. Aber wenn du das möchtest, kannst du uns gerne schreiben und wir kümmern uns darum.

Du kannst dich für ein Pay-it-Forward Abo anmelden und eine monatliche Spende in Höhe deiner Wahl einrichten.

Wenn du nur einmalig Spenden willst, überweise einfach das Geld mit dem Betreff “Pay-it-Forward Fund” auf unser Bankkonto.

Ja, jede Person sollte ihr eigenes Konto auf unserer Plattform haben, um sie zu nutzen. Wenn ihr dafür finanzielle Unterstützung braucht, könnt ihr den Pay-it-Forward Fund nutzen.

Schreib uns einfach eine Email mit deine Anfrage und wir geben dir einen Rabattcode, den du bei deiner Anmeldung verwenden kannst. Wir haben keine festen Richtlinien, wie stark wir reduzieren; kontaktiere uns einfach und wir finden eine Lösung.

Wenn du eingeloggt bist, hast du Zugang zu deiner Account-Seite auf der du alle Details deines Abos verwalten kannst

Unter “Home” kannst du deine persönlichen Daten verwalten.

Unter “Abos” kannst du dein Abo direkt verwalten – du kannst es jederzeit ändern, pausieren oder kündigen. Hier kannst du auch deine Zahlungsmethode ändern oder aktualisieren.

Unter “Zahlungen” kannst du deinen Zahlungsstatus einsehen und deine Rechnung herunterladen.

Unter “Kurse” hast du Zugriff auf das Online-Programm.

Wenn du das Passwort ändern möchtest, kannst du dich ausloggen und beim erneuten Einloggen auf “Passwort vergessen?” gehen.

Solltest du Probleme haben, schreib uns gerne.

Die Lehrenden

In den Kursen lernst Du Kris and Ali kennen, zwei exzellente Tänzer:innen und erfahrene Swingtanz-Lehrer:innen aus Heidelberg.

Kris und Ali unterrichten seit vielen Jahren Swingtanz für alle Niveaus: von Anfänger:innen ohne vorherige Tanzerfahrung bis hin zu den erfahrensten Tänzer:innen und Tanzlehrer:innen, die von ihren einzigartigen Methoden profitieren. Das Lehren hat sie um die ganze Welt geführt: von den Städten Europas, nach Israel, Chile, Neuseeland und zurück. Die Online-Kurse enthalten ihre besten Ideen und Material das überall anwendbar ist und für jede:n funktioniert.

Kris Blindert

Bevor Kris sich ganz dem Swingtanzen verschrieben hat, war sie Astrophysikerin. Sie hat geforscht, unterrichtet und ihr Wissen mit der Welt geteilt. Das Lehren war schon immer ihre Leidenschaft und ihre langjährige Erfahrung in so unterschiedlichen Bereichen haben ihre Fähigkeiten geschult, besonders komplexe Strukturen in leicht verständliche Einzelteile zu zerlegen. Ihr Ziel ist es immer, Dir den leichtesten Lernweg aufzuzeigen, ohne dabei die Essenz des Tanzes zu verwässern.

Ali Taghavi

Ali begann seinen Berufsweg als Chemiker in der Alzheimerforschung. Nachdem er vier Jahre lang in die neusten Entwicklungen in der Alzheimerprävention und Studien zur Behandlung vertieft war, erkannte er, dass Swingtanzen auf ganz praktische Weise alle Vorteile eines gesunden Lebensstils und der Krankheitsvorbeugung in sich vereint. Und in diesem Moment hat er sich entschlossen, sein Leben und Handeln darauf zu fokussieren, den Menschen durch Swingtanzen zu einem stabilen, glücklichen und mit Leidenschaft und Begeisterung erfüllten Leben zu verhelfen.

Wie andere Tänzer:innen ihre Erfahrungen mit unserem Online-Programm beschreiben

Mehr als 20 kostenlose Lernvideos!

Du willst ein Gefühl dafür bekommen, wie es ist, mit uns zu lernen?

Unsere kostenlosen Inhalte helfen dir dabei zu entscheiden ob unsere Kurse etwas für dich sind. Deshalb haben wir für dich ganze Kurseinheiten aus allen Leveln und zu verschiedenen Themen bereitgestellt – wie etwa Geschichte, Pädagogik oder sogar Tanzfitness.

Online Pass

Lindy Hop your way!

Learn Lindy Hop online, when you want, where you want, how you want, and what you want with our online courses and virtual trainings.

Are Online Lindy Hop Lessons for You?

  • You want to be in charge of your own learning schedule?
  • You can’t make it to dance classes in person?
  • You want to control the speed and repetition of your Lindy Hop lessons?
  • You want a consistent perspective of the dance from beginner to advanced?
  • You want to prepare so you can feel comfortable in you next dance class?
  • You want to spend quality time on your own or alone with your partner?

Our online Lindy Hop dance platform helps you fit dancing into your life – with all its benefits!

Wherever you are with your dancing – from absolute beginner with no dance experience all the way to expert and even teacher – with an Online Pass you can learn Lindy Hop online and progress with us and our community daily! We offer both on-demand content and live sessions.

Complete Lindy Hop Training
from Beginner to Advanced

With this offer you have access to all our dance videos – from the basics to advanced Lindy Hop and Solo Jazz. You can work alone or with a partner.

The Online Pass contains the full 90+ hours of instructional videos covering all our swing dance content.

Virtually Social

Get access to regular live activities on zoom. Training is more fun together! Join the “Train Together” sessions: we warm up together and support each other, and a teacher is available for questions that you might have while you are training on our videos or your own material.

Guided practice sessions like Jazz Roulette and Jazz Routine Practice, and other fun social activities are also included in this offer, such as SwingStep Radio and DJ Battles, featuring swing music played in Harlem’s Savoy Ballroom and other places during the Jazz Era.

Price

Monthly Subscription

29 €/m

Including

  • full access to all our online swing dance courses! That’s 90+ hours of instruction videos covering beginner to advanced content!
  • access to regular Zoom activities such as “Train Together” (using our courses or your own material), Jazz Roulette, Socials and more!
  • 100% money-back guarantee on your first 30 days.

You can

  • pause or cancel anytime without any fees.
  • benefit from or contribute to our Pay-it-Forward fund.

All our subscriptions come with a first 30 day money back guarantee. If you sign up for a subscription, and after the first 30 days you feel it was not what you expected and you are not satisfied with the experience, you can ask for part or all of your money back. We believe our services will bring you a lot of value so we are confident that we can provide you this guarantee.

Want to join but you’re unable to afford the subscription? We have created a fund to make subscriptions accessible to everyone, no matter their financial situation. Check out our Pay-it-forward Fund!

5% of all our net revenue goes to our mindfulness budget, which allocates funds to environmental organisations as well as anti-racism and Black inclusivity projects.

If you are only interested in purchasing a single course, please contact us.

Schedule of Online Activities

On our calendar page, you can get an overview of all our online activities. You can filter the calendar to see only online events, choose whether you want a per-month or 3-day view, and set your timezone.

Or, if you’d prefer to add our online activities to your own calendar, use these Google or iCal links.

For detailed descriptions of the activities, see below.

Choose Your Class!

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

Online Activities

Learning Lindy Hop online is more fun together! In these sessions we meet online, and together we warm up and get into the training spirit. Then we work independently – you can choose a SwingStep video to use for your practice, pull out a dusty workshop recap to work on, or anything else you fancy.

You’re welcome to ask for feedback or help from us during these sessions. Plus, just knowing that we’re in it together can make us all more motivated to stick to our training and make it so much more fun and connected.

A fun way to train your Solo Jazz! The roulette wheel gives us the random moves of the day, we train them together, and we even create some fun combos out of the moves we trained.

It’s important to keep up with the classics! Each session focuses on a classic jazz routine (such as the Trickeration, or Tranky Doo). We work on it together, you get the chance to practice the choreography as well as get tips to improve your transitions or style.

These sessions are mainly intended for you to practice and train a routine you already know at least a little bit – if you haven’t done it before you’re welcome to join, but be ready for a challenge 😉

Improvisation is an important part of jazz culture! Don’t get stuck only training your routines and techniques, make time to train your improvisation as well! Join Improve Your Improv to get new skills, get inspired, and feel more comfortable expressing yourself to music.

We’ll DJ some great jazz songs and share fun facts and stories about the artists or songs and you can do whatever suits you; we’ve had people playing card games, gardening, dancing or just having a cup of coffee with us.

Time to party! It might be a DJ Battle of the Bands, or a game night, or a social dance… anything else we can think of to spend our weekend night and party with you.

FAQ about the Online Program

Our Getting Started course is full of tips on how to use our video player, what content is in the classes, how to use zoom, and more. You can access this course as soon as you’ve created an account, even without an online pass.

We have regular zoom activities where you can meet someone from the team for questions. The best occasions are the Train Together sessions.

You can also contact us through our slack and facebook communities, we’re happy to connect and chat there too – you can ask questions, you can send us a video to get feedback, whatever works for you.

Or you can send us an email with any questions.

In the videos, the teachers will speak English. However, in most of our online sessions you can also ask your question in German.

This is a troubleshooting help section so that you can quickly get back to dancing if something goes wrong.

The first thing we need to figure out is if your issue is “global” in nature, meaning if our server or website is not working and it’s not only you who are having this problem, or if the problem is local to your computer or phone.

Let’s start with a few steps you can immediately take in order to figure out if the problem is with your system:

Test 1: Is it your internet connection?

If you click on this link: https://fast.com/ You can test the current SPEED of your internet connection. If you are watching a video, the download speed is important.

You should also consider testing the STABILITY of your internet connection. We found this service online that can help you quickly get an impression of your stability: http://startrinity.com/InternetQuality/ContinuousBandwidthTester.aspx#run_in_browser (you don’t need to insert any of your information to get an impression of your internet stability, just click on the start test button and information will appear underneath it)…

Stop the test after you get an impression of your internet stability. If most of it is green, your connection is fine. If most of it is red, you might need to talk to your internet provider.

If your internet speed is less than 40 Mbps, consider reducing the video quality; that might already give you a better experience. Some services like youtube actually do this automatically for you, but we are mainly using vimeo (because they do less data tracking on you), and with vimeo you will need to change the settings yourself. Each of our videos has a little “gear wheel” at the bottom right where you can change video quality.

Another step you can take to make sure your internet experience is better when you don’t have a strong connection is to make sure to close any additional apps or tabs you may have open. Each opened browser tab uses your computer and internet resources. If you have a tendency to open a lot of tabs so it looks something like this on the top of your browser, it is possible that you are using up a lot of memory that slows down your overall experience.

Test 2 – Is it your browser?

There are two quick ways you can test to see if your browser is causing the issue. The first is to open up a different browser. E.g., if you use Chrome, open Firefox, Explorer or Safari and log into swingstep.com to see if the same problems occur there. If it’s working in the other browser, then there is something about your preferred browser that is not working with our website.

A quick way to test that is to open up an “Incognito” window on your preferred browser; log into swingstep.com from there and see if the problem still persists. (Each browser has its own way of offering an incognito window, so if you need to learn how to do that, do an internet search for “open an incognito tab” and add either your browser or phone & browser name etc and you’ll quickly find an answer.)

Test 3 – what about my browser is causing swingstep.com not to work properly?

There are several reasons why our internet browsers can mess with our online experience. Here are the standard issues that we’ve seen users face:

  • Browser Cache – your browsers cache is meant to save some website information so that next time you hop onto the site it is faster. Most of the time, this is great. But sometimes, it collects too much information and stops working. You occasionally should clear your cache to ensure good browser health.
  • Browser Cookies – not all cookies are evil 😉 if you block all cookies from a website, a lot of the features (like videos) stop working. You should regularly clear your cookies to make sure you don’t collect unwanted cookies, but it also helps you have a better internet experience. So, if you have a cookie blocker, you need to pause that on our site. Try clearing your cookies and try to disable anything that is blocking cookies from being used on our site.
  • Browser plugins – some browser plugins such as ad-blockers do more than just block ads. They sometimes also block useful cookies from being used on your browser. If you are still having problems with our videos, try pausing or disabling your browser plugins on our site.

Test 4 – Is your computer hard disk full?

Another tricky possibility is that the hard-disk space on your actual computer can block you from even opening internet pages if it is completely full. This is extremely rare, but worth looking for in case nothing else helps. 

Specific cases

Here are some specific cases that have happened to other members and how we were able to help them. Check to see if one of these applies to you too…

Problem: “I had a total error with the site. I could sign in at the beginning but when I checked the course and I clicked ‘completed’ it broke down and I can’t sign in anymore at the moment.”

Explanation of the issue: Today, many services add information to your browser search. Sometimes, after browsing the web for a while, you have so much information added to your browser that it exceeds the amount of information that can be transferred over the http headers. In this case for example, the information “course completed” was the drop that made the bucket spill over.

Solution: Try clearing your cache and your cookies. On a mobile device, this may mean that you need a browser cold-restart. (Unfortunately, every phone does this a little differently; to find out how yours works, perform an internet search using keywords like “How To Force Quit Apps” or “how to cold start” and include your phone model.)

Global issues

If you’ve tried all the above options and our site is still not working for you, it is very possible that the problem is on our side. Please let us know and we will troubleshoot on our side to fix it. And, of course, If we’ve fixed it from our side but it is still not working for you, please let us know so that we can troubleshoot together. Send us an email at [email protected].

Please don’t hesitate to contact us! Send an email to [email protected], describing the problem as specifically as you can, and we’ll get back to you.

FAQ about Online Pass Subscriptions

You can control your subscription, including pausing it anytime, by going to your Account Page, under the “Subscription” heading.

You will continue to have access to the online content until the end of the remaining 30-day period. After this period ends, you will no longer have access, and you will no longer be charged for the subscription; you can always come back to your account and reactivate your subscription to regain access.

The benefit of pausing your subscription is that you do not have to enter your payment details again when you restart, which makes the process much easier for you.

There are no charges for pausing subscriptions.

Please note that this option is limited if you use PayPal: you can only reactivate your subscription once the remaining 30-day period is over. If, on the other hand, you use Stripe, there shouldn’t be an issue.

You can control your subscription, including canceling it, by going to your Account Page, under the “Subscription” heading.

You will continue to have access to the online content until the end of the remaining 30-day period. After this period ends, you will no longer have access, and you will no longer be charged for the subscription; you can always come back to your account and reactivate your subscription to regain access.

If you cancel your subscription, you will have to re-enter your payment details in case you choose to re-subscribe. There are no charges for canceling subscriptions.

You can ask for a rate that works for you via our Pay-it-Forward Fund. Just contact us via email and we’ll give you a discount code to use when you subscribe. We don’t have fixed policies for how much we discount; contact us and together we will find something that works.

From the moment you sign up, you have committed to 30 day intervals that automatically renew. So for example, if your subscription starts on January 4th, your next payment date will be February 3rd.

You can pay for your subscription using SEPA or credit card (via Stripe), or using PayPal.

Stripe includes options such as SEPA direct transfer, which will allow for regular transfers directly from your bank account, without needing to use an additional account like PayPal.

If a payment is not completed, you will automatically lose access to your subscription and be moved to the Free Pass Subscription. Payments are made on the first day of each new 30-day period.

However, since we’re using a system that automatically takes care of this for you, hopefully this won’t be an issue. If you do notice a problem, please contact us right away.

Right now we do not have any automatic solutions for this. However, if you wish to do so, please write us an email and we can set it up for you.

You can sign up for a pay-it-forward subscription and set up a monthly donation in the amount of your choice.

Or, for a one-time donation, simply send money to our bank account with the description “Pay-it-forward Fund”.

Yes, each person should have their own account when using our platform. If you need help covering the costs for both of you, you can use the Pay-it-Forward Fund.

Just contact us via email and we’ll give you a discount code to use when you subscribe. We don’t have fixed policies for how much we discount; contact us and together we will find something that works.

When signed in, you have an account page that lets you control all the details you need…

Under “Home”, you control your personal information.

Under “Subscriptions”, you can directly manage your subscription – you can change, pause, or cancel it any time. This is the place to change or update your payment method.

Under “Payments”, you can see your payment status and download your invoice.

Under “Courses”, you have access to the online program.

If you need to change your password, please log out and then use the “Forgot password?” option in the log-in screen.

If you have any issues, please contact us.

Meet Your Teachers

In these courses, you’ll get to know Kris and Ali, two passionate swing dance teachers from Germany.

Together, Kris and Ali have been teaching swing dancing to people of all experience levels. Teaching basic steps to complete beginners all the way to training instructors in our unique teaching methodologies. They have been teaching all around the world: from most cities in Europe, to Israel, Chile and back again. This program contains their best ideas, things that work everywhere for people from all walks of life. 

Kris Blindert

Before Kris dedicated herself to being a Lindy Hop and Jazz teacher, she worked in astronomy; researching, teaching, and sharing with the public. She always loved teaching, and her years of experience with such different topics have honed her skills so that she can break down very complex things into easy-to-understand pieces. Her goal is always to give you as easy a learning experience as possible without watering down the dance.

Ali Taghavi

Ali began his career as a chemist in Alzheimer research. After 4 years of being fully immersed in the latest discoveries in Alzheimer prevention and treatment studies, he recognised that swing dancing offers all the benefits of a healthy lifestyle in one single activity. So he decided to dedicate himself to helping busy people live strong, happy and passionate lives through swing dancing.

How other dancers describe their experience with our online videos